Got more questions? Find advice on: ASP | SQL | XML | Windows
in Search
Welcome to RegexAdvice Sign in | Join | Help

Split SQL WHERE Clause

Last post 10-23-2012, 6:42 PM by Aussie Susan. 15 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (16 items)   1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  03-20-2008, 9:58 PM 40538

Split SQL WHERE Clause

I am pretty new to this Reg Exp stuff, but gaining more understanding every day.  My ASP application is attempting to Split a WHERE clause on the " AND "s, but having no luck.  I would also one day like to expand it to be able to split on " OR " but for now I settle with the baby step.

Expression: (\w+)\s*([<>=]+)\s*([^AND$]+)
    Test Value: String='57846' AND Number=1 AND Date=#1/1/2008# AND Time=#1:34 PM# AND DATETIMED = #1/1/2008 1:34:25 PM# AND GTOE>=100 AND SpecialString='With Aposts And Spaces ''4'''

The matches return:
    "String='57846' "
    "Number=1 "
    "Date=#1/1/2008# "
    "Time=#1:34 PM# "
    "DATETIMED = #1/1/2008 1:34:25 PM# "
    "GTOE>=100 "
    "SpecialString='With "

All returns are great, except for the last, which I need to be:
    "SpecialString='With Aposts And Spaces ''4''"

Thanks for the help,

Jake

•  03-21-2008, 2:29 AM 40543 in reply to 40538

Re: Split SQL WHERE Clause

JHulse,

Your expression isn't doing what you think it is doing.  I assume that ([^AND$]+) is supposed to be looking for anything but the word "AND".  What it really matches is any string that doesn't contain the characters 'A', 'N', 'D', or '$'.  This is why your last match isn't what you expect.  It stops with it hits the 'A' in "Aposts".  The expression should be ((?!\bAND\b).)+, or ((?!\b(AND|OR)\b).)+ if you want to split on ORs as well.