Got more questions? Find advice on: ASP | SQL | XML | Windows
in Search
Welcome to RegexAdvice Sign in | Join | Help

Regex Noob here

Last post 07-31-2010, 7:37 PM by mash. 11 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  07-30-2010, 3:21 AM 70252

Regex Noob here

I am looking for strings that may or may not contain one S or N in the front, followed by 2 or 3 digits, followed by a '-', followed by another two or three digits. I came up with this regex:[SN]?[0-9]{2,3}-[0-9]{2,3}

I want to modify this regex such that there are no '-' or digits before or after the match. So i do not want to match any part of 12-10-10, or any part of S1122-3344. Above regex matches 12-10 from the first example and 122-334 from the second. Adding (?![-0-9]) to the end of above regex eliminates the 12-10 match and the 122-334 match, but now 10-10 matches. I am getting close but not quite there yet.

Thanks for any help.

Al

•  07-30-2010, 4:05 AM 70253 in reply to 70252

Re: Regex Noob here

Apparently lookbehind is not well-supported by the major regex engines, so i cannot use something like (?<![-0-9])([SN]?[0-9]{2,3}-[0-9]{2,3})(?![-0-9]). Is there a way to achieve this without using lookbehind?
  •  07-30-2010, 4:05 AM 70254 in reply to 70252

sorry. duplicate.

•  07-30-2010, 4:06 AM 70255 in reply to 70252

sorry. dupes.

•  07-30-2010, 9:12 AM 70268 in reply to 70255

If I understand your question correctly this could be a solution :

[^-\d][SN]?[0-9]{2,3}-[0-9]{2,3}[^-\d]

The delta with your solution is that  [^-\d] is added before and after the regex

Regards, Tom Pester

•  07-30-2010, 11:12 AM 70289 in reply to 70268

The regex you have suggested includes two non-digit and non'-' character in the result. For ex, in the string 'QS123-324 ', i am only interested in matching S123-324 but your regex matches the entire string, including the leading Q and the trailing space.

Thanks for responding.

•  07-30-2010, 11:58 AM 70293 in reply to 70289